Can I pause the news while I’m at work?

by

Stop it! Stop! I guess I’ll just have to risk the wrath of my boss and post because there is too much to write about and as Pastor’s been getting the jump on me consistently in the group analysis, I’ll just continue talking about the news.

The big news today for England is the loss of captain Rio Ferdinand. Although in terms of how the team will play this is not a big blow, it might be one mentally for the team (losing two captains on such short notice? Very careless!). That’s where Capello will come in and I think if anyone can be trusted to make sure this does not have too big of a mental impact, it’s him. Ferdinand didn’t have the best season, and although some of that can definitely be blamed on injuries, he did not perform to the level we are used to seeing from him even when he played. England are certainly well-covered in that position, with King, Carragher, Upson and Dawson ready to step in. And of course I am biased when I say this, but Gerrard being captain for the World Cup could be great for his performance and for the team as a whole. He’s not called “inspirational” at Liverpool for nothing.

And now we get to laugh again at Raymond Domenech as his France lost 1-0 to China. Ah, what comedic relief he will provide as his team exits in the first round! I hope his last match in charge is the one against South Africa.

The final injury news is concerning Didier Drogba, who hurt his elbow playing against Japan. Without him, that group of death suddenly looks rather alive (sorry). I doubt though that this will keep him out of the Cup and of course, Eriksson’s got a habit of taking injured players to the World Cup. Why should he change now? For the record, Ivory Coast won the game 2-0.

The only other friendly going on right now is Slovenia against New Zealand. We’re almost at half-time and the Slovenes are winning 3-1. I’ll have to tender my Group E riposte here in a little bit, Pastor, don’t go anywhere.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment